How do you snakes drink water?

Snakes have a different system to drink water, which involves the skin folds which function like tiny tubes in a sponge, drawing water into the snake's mouth through capillary action. The snakes muscle's action then squeezes the water down its gut. Snakes seldom actually drink, so it is believed.