How many strings are on a heart?

Pedal harps can have from 40 to 47 strings. 40 strings are fine for some purposes, but in an orchestra you will probably want 46 or 47 strings. Incidentally, the 47 strings equal almost the range of the piano, minus the bottom two and top three keys, so C on the bottom to G at the top.