Why do your taste buds become inflamed?

Swollen or inflamed taste buds can be the result of burning your tongue, having a dry mouth, eating spicy foods, or even allergies. Some allergies or bacterial infections can irritate your tongue & a sharp tooth edge or denture can irritate tender taste buds as well.