How do you know the difference between a male and a female bumblebee?

You can tell whether a bumblebee is male or female by looking at its legs. If you see a shiny flattish looking segment on the back legs, called a pollen basket, or a big clump of pollen on this area then it is a female bee because male bees do not collect pollen.