What's capital murder?

Capital Murder is murder that is punishable by death. Now that the death sentence is not widely used more people typically are sentenced to life in prison for capital murder charges.

---

Capital murder is murder that may be punished by death. Capital murder involves murder plus some type of aggravating circumstance, such as murdering a police officer or firefighter while they are on duty, murdering a person while committing a felony like rape or abduction, or murdering a child.