How many grams of sugar should an adult female have per day?

According to the American Heart Association, the maximum amount of added sugars you should eat in a day for men is 150 calories per day, or 37.5 grams or 9 teaspoons and for Women is 100 calories per day or 25 grams or 6 teaspoons.