Why can't humans eat grass?

In principle, people can eat grass. As a practical food source, however, your lawn leaves a lot to be desired. There are two main problems with a grass diet: human stomachs have difficulty digesting raw leaves and grasses. and grass contains a lot of silica, an abrasive which wears down teeth.