What is aluminum made of?

Aluminum is an element, so it is made of aluminum atoms, which have 13 protons and electrons. It does not occur in nature as pure aluminum, however, and must be made from other substances that contain aluminum. The most common one used is a clay-like substance called bauxite.

---

Bauxite