How do you take care of a roly poly?

Cover the bottom of the cage with hardwood mulch, organic topsoil or newspaper. Add plenty of items for the roly-polies to explore and to shelter under. Try pieces of bark, flat rocks, cardboard or crumpled paper. Keep their environment humid, as pill bugs breathe via gills rather than lungs.