When is a dragon fruit ripe?

Ripe dragon fruit has a bright pink color with smooth skin. The dragon fruit should not be rock hard. Instead, let it ripen a until the flesh gives a little, similar to a ripe avocado. If the dragon fruit feels mushy, it is overripe.