How do you get sugarcane in animal crossing new horizons?

Leif, an in game vendor that visits your island will sell the sprouts. You could possibly run across them in mystery Island hopping with Kapp'n as well. After the new update you can visit Leif on Harv's Island any time after you open the store front as well.