What's the average lifespan of a garbage disposal?

On average, your garbage disposal should last you a good number of years before the blades will wear down or the motor will burn out. Depending on when you installed it , you can expect your garbage disposal to last anywhere from 8 – 15 years.

---

A garbage disposal should last for around 12 years for an average-sized household that does occasional upkeep, cleaning, and maintenance of the unit. Things such like bones, celery, or grease can disrupt the functionality of the garbage disposal and knock years off of its lifespan.