Why do they call the game marco polo?

There does not appear to be any real connection between the game and the explorer of the same name, although according to one whimsical explanation, "legend has it that the famed explorer didn't really have a clue as to where he was going", this being reflected in the "It" player's behavior.

---

Because legend has it that the famed explorer didn't really have a clue to where he was going - just like the "It" in the game