Why are lady bugs red?

Ladybugs spots are a warning to predators. The color combination black and red or orange is known as aposematic coloration. The spots are part of the ladybug's clever color scheme. Ladybugs produce alkaloids, toxic chemicals that make them unpalatable to hungry spiders, ants, or other predators.