What happened to buddy holly?

Buddy Holly died in an plane crash near Clear Lake, Iowa on February 3, 1959. The pilot and three rock and roll musicians were killed. They were Buddy Holly, Ritchie Valens, and "The Big Bopper" J. P. Richardson.