What is alcohol vinegar?

Distilled white vinegar is made by feeding oxygen to a vodka-like grain alcohol, causing bacteria to grow and acetic acid to form, which gives it the sour taste. Vinegar can be made from any alcohol — wine, cider, beer — but it's grain alcohol that gives distilled white vinegar its neutral profile.