Why are the cowboys america's team?

The nickname originated with the team's 1978 highlight film, where the narrator (John Facenda) opens with the following introduction: They appear on television so often that their faces are as familiar to the public as presidents and movie stars. They are the Dallas Cowboys, "America's Team".