Who was the president of the united states during world war two?

President Franklin Delano Roosevelt won the election of 1940, and was at the helm of the nation as it prepared for and entered World War II. Roosevelt, who had been a victim of polio early in life, died in April 1945, and vice president Harry Truman assumed the Presidency through the end of the war.