Why is pluto no longer considered a planet?

To put it simply, when astronomers were tasked with coming up with a definition of a planet, there was no definition they could create that would leave Pluto as a planet but not include Ceres and a lot of other space rocks as planets. Pluto is smaller than our Moon.