How much water do poinsettias like?

Best way to see if a poinsettia needs water is to feel the top of the potting soil, which should feel moist and cool to the touch. If it feels dry, it's time to water. Also, if the pot feels light as a feather when you lift it, the soil is too dry. The soil should be kept slightly moist not too wet.