What is primary pellagra?

Pellagra is a disease caused by a lack of the vitamin niacin. Symptoms include inflamed skin, diarrhea, dementia, and sores in the mouth. Areas of the skin exposed to either sunlight or friction are typically affected first. Over time affected skin may become darker, stiffen, peel, or bleed.