Is toxic masculinity real?

Yes, it's real. A few examples include telling boys to “man up” when they feel upset or justifying abusive and inappropriate behavior with the phrase “boys will be boys.” Toxic masculinity is the need to aggressively compete and dominate others and includes the most problematic proclivities in men.