What is the nog in eggnog?

The 'nog', in eggnog, is said to refer to wooden cups, called 'noggins', used in past centuries to drink from. Some people argue that the word 'nog' is really a mispronunciation of the word 'grog', which refers to a strong beer. What we call eggnog these days, was called 'posset' in the Middle Ages.