Why did pirates wear eyepatches?

Some assume pirates wore eye patches to cover a missing eye or an eye that was wounded in battle, but in fact, an eye patch was more likely to be used to condition the eye so the pirate could fight in the dark. ... This would allow them to instantly see in the dark.