How do you get rid of rust on silverware?

If you hand-wash your utensils, use a soft sponge, and dry them right away. Never soak flatware overnight. Fortunately, unsightly rust spots can be removed easily with a paste of one part baking soda to three parts water. Rub the paste gently onto the stainless steel with a soft cloth.