What is an african wildebeest?

The wildebeest is the iconic antelope of the African plains, with a marvelous, rugged appearance, and unmistakable anvil-shaped head. It is also commonly called the gnu - pronounced "new", and sometimes referred to as the "fool of the veld" or the "poor man's Buffalo"