What planets are there in space?

There are eight planets in the solar system: Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, and Neptune. Outside of our solar system there are countless planets (called exoplanets) and we have mapped just a very tiny fraction of them.