How many seconds does it take to get to space?

The end of the Earth's atmosphere is generally accepted to be about 100km (62 miles) upwards. At 3,500 MPH, the shuttle is traveling approximately one mile per second. It takes approximately 150 seconds for the shuttle to get out of earth's atmosphere and into space.