Is corn meal corn starch?

Yes, they're both made from corn, but they are quite different in flavour, use & nutrition. Cornmeal refers to dried & coarsely ground field corn used to make dishes like polenta and cornbread. Cornstarch, on the other hand, is the white powder often used to thicken sauces, stews & gravies.