What was the purpose of the freedmen's bureau?

The freedmen's bureau, established in 1865 provided aid primarily to emancipated slaves. It fed millions, provided housing, medical care, education, and legal services. Opposition from Southern whites left it underfunded and undermanned, and it was dismantled in 1872.