How many senior citizens are in the united states?

Starting in 2030, when all boomers will be older than 65, older Americans will make up 21 percent of the population, up from 15 percent today. By 2060, nearly one in four Americans will be 65 years and older, the number of 85-plus will triple, and the country will add a half million centenarians.

---

There were roughly 52 million Americans aged 65 and older as of 2018.