How can you tell if a pomelo is ripe?

The thick skin of the ripe fruit should be dull and pale green to yellow in colour. The flesh of the ripe pomelo is white in color. The pomelo is round to pear-shaped. A shiny white skin indicates that the fruit is not ripe.