Why does ground beef turn gray?

When ground beef is not exposed to oxygen, the myoglobin turns grayish-brown after a few days. It may look less appetizing but is safe. If the ground meat is gray or brown throughout, however, that usually indicates that it has been in the package for a while and may be spoiling.