How does a gas motor work?

A motor makes power by creating thousands of carefully controlled, timed explosions inside of it's cylinders. Fuel (as a mist) is combined with air, compressed, then a carefully timed spark creates the internal explosion. Energy released from the explosions turns the crankshaft for usable power.