What is a fresh egg?

A very fresh egg will lie on the bottom of a glass of water, while an older egg will start to rise up on one end, and eventually float. If your eggs are still within the expiration or sell by date on the carton, or within 21–30 days after the pack date, you can be pretty sure they are still fresh.