When did garth brooks divorce his first wife?

Garth Brooks married songwriter Sandy Mahl on May 24, 1986. Brooks and Mahl separated in March 1999, announcing their plans to divorce on October 9, 2000, and filing for divorce on November 6, 2000. The divorce became final on December 17, 2001.