How are puzzles made?

Modern puzzles are made out of paperboard since they are easier to mass-produce than the original wooden models. An enlarged printed reproduction of a painting or other artwork is glued onto cardboard before cutting. This board is then fed into a press that cuts the puzzle into pieces.