What is a 401k investment?

A 401(k) is a retirement savings plan sponsored by an employer. It lets workers save and invest a piece of their paycheck before taxes are taken out. Taxes aren't paid until the money is withdrawn from the account.

---

A 401(k) plan is a tax-advantaged defined-contribution retirement account offered by many employers to their employees. It is named after a section of the U.S. Internal Revenue Code. There are two basic types of 401(k) —traditional and Roth—which differ primarily in how they're taxed.