What was the first cat to go to space?

Félicette was the first cat launched into space, on 18 October 1963 as part of the French space program. Félicette was one of 14 female cats trained for spaceflight. The capsule was recovered 13 minutes after the rocket was ignited and Félicette survived the flight.