Why do dogs have three islands?

All dogs have three eyelids. The third eyelid acts as a "windshield-washer" for the cornea, produces about 1/3 of the dog's tears, contains lymphoid tissue that acts as a lymph node and produces antibodies to fight infection, and protects the cornea from injury.