Is a siren a mermaid?

'Mermaid' and 'siren' are often used interchangeably, but there is actually a distinction between the two, according to legend and literature. Mermaids are half fish, half women who live in the ocean and are typically harmless. Sirens are like evil mermaids who lure sailors to their deaths.