How far is the earth atmosphere?

The atmosphere of Earth is the layer of gases, commonly known as air, that surrounds the planet Earth and is retained by Earth's gravity. The Kármán line, at 100 km (62 mi), or 1.57% of Earth's radius, is often used as the border between the atmosphere and outer space.

---

Earth's atmosphere stretches from the surface of the planet up to as far as 10,000 kilometers (6,214 miles) above.