How many animals live in africa?

There are over 1100 different species of mammals that live in Africa and over 2600 different species of birds. Four of the five fastest land animals live in Africa - fastest is the cheetah at 70 mph, wildebeest, lion and Thomson's gazelle all about 50 mph.