Do worms like water?

Moisture in the ground keeps the mucus from drying out, so soil that's a little wet actually helps the worms breathe easy. Even if the soil is very saturated or an earthworm is submerged in water, it can survive as long as there's sufficient oxygen to pull in through the skin.