Why does silver turn white?

Silver turns white when it is exposed to air and moisture, a process called tarnishing. This occurs because the surface of the silver reacts with sulfur compounds in the air to form a layer of silver sulfide. This layer can be removed by cleaning with polishing cloth to restore the original shine.

---

Silver has a grayish-white hue. When you buy it from the jewelry store, it'll have a lustrous appearance. However, silver will eventually become dull as it tarnishes, which occurs due to a reaction with hydrogen sulfide in the air.