How did leon musk make his money?

He And his brother co-founded Zip2, a web software company, which was acquired by Compaq for $340 million in 1999. Musk then founded X.com, an online bank which merged with Confinity in 2000; Confinity launched PayPal in 1999 and purchased by eBay for $1.5 billion in October 2002.