Why are avocados called avocados?

It took a lot of marketing to get them called Avocados, the original name given to it from American farmers was Alligator Pear. In 1915 the California Avocado Association began introducing the made up term Avocado to promote the plant.

---

Avocado actually comes from the word 'testicle'. When Aztecs discovered the Avocado in 500 B.C. they named it ãhucatl, which translates to testicle. It is likely that the texture, shape, and size of the fruit, as well as the way it grows in pairs inspired the name avocado.