What's the difference between a freeze dryer and a dehydrator?

Instead of using heat, freeze-drying uses extremely cold temperatures (like -40 F) and then forms a vacuum around the food and alternately heats and cools the food to remove 99% of the moisture out of the food. A dehydrator dries the food with low heat.