Where is the thoracic cavity located?

The thoracic cavity, or chest cavity, is enclosed by the ribs. It is the second largest hollow space in the human body. The main organs it contains are the lungs, and the heart. In addition, it also contains the esophagus; the tube that transfers food from the mouth to the stomach.