How are chia seeds made?

Chia seeds are edible seeds of Salvia hispanica, a flowering plant in the mint family native to Central America, or of the related Salvia columbariae of the southwestern United States and Mexico. The dried flower head is crushed and then filtered and strained, leaving the seeds behind.